Working on the nightshift

Post by webmaster on Staff Profiles - Published October 21st, 2011

The story of Lahcen

I was born in a small village called Tikiouine on the beautiful coastal town of Agadir. I am the eldest son of five, three sisters and a brother. I come from an Amazigh family, thus my mother tongue is Berber.
At the age of six I began school where I learnt Arabic & French and once at the secondary school my interest for the English language increased so much that I chose to carry on my university studies in English literature.

I used to play football a lot, I played in the second division A in the Moroccan football federation for Raja Agdair Football Club as well as for the Agadir university football team (Arts & human sciences faculty).

Once I got to the crossroad of my life and due to the very few expectations of a better future in my country, I, as many Moroccans of my generation, packed and headed towards an unknown destiny in search of better and promising horizons.
I arrived to Spain (Alicante) at 22 years old and I was overwhelmed by so many things that were new for me, I also had to face some culture shocks, customs, traditions and the language, but I decided to make my way through and my first step was taking a six month Spanish course.

I have travelled throughout all mainland Spain, I worked in different domains, nothing important, to maintain myself and as a means to carry on with my travels and discover the secrets of a beautiful country through its cultural variety and breathtaking landscapes.
Once I had seen most of the mainland I decided to have a look at Baleares.
Mallorca was my destination for some time before I ended up in Tenerife where I settled down and finally made up my mind to convert to my final residence.

I met my wife in Almeria in 1990; she was back from holidays from France, we exchanged addresses and in four months time she joined me in Almeria to share the adventure together.
In 1992 we got married, we still are, and have a 15 year old boy called Anouar; €œThe reason for my life€.

I worked in different establishments in the south of Tenerife on my arrival on the island in June 1995, small jobs that allowed me to hang on while I found something interesting.
In 1996 I was offered a job in a time share reception, I was on nightshift for two years and liked the experience (My dad use to work nightshifts too and the so does my younger brother so I think it’s a family thing!!!).

Since then I have been leading a smooth life on this beautiful island and the fact that I can meet people from all different parts of the world makes life and coexistence more bearable and enriching.

On 18th of June 2007, Gemma (head receptionist) and Ana (Resort Manager) gave me the opportunity to be part of this amazing project and become a member of the great Pearly Grey family that I am so proud to belong to. I was, I am & always will be grateful for that.

At Pearly Grey I have met so many nice people, those I work with on a daily basis and others I’ve had the opportunity to see only once a year, like Santa Claus (work time difference) as well as some very interesting people among our regular guests. The four years I have been here have gone by in the blink of an eye.

I would like to present my warmest greetings to everyone, my thanks and gratefulness for your continued friendship and the endless understanding and mutual respect you have always displayed.

Thanks a lot.

Favourite place in Tenerife Aguamansa & La Orotava
Favourite place in the world Agadir & Morocco
Favourite Food Fish &Tajine – Couscous
Favourite Movie The Godfather
Favourite book 1984 & George Orwell
Favourite group or singer Bruce Springsteen & Jacques Brel
Favourite drink Mint tea (Jack Daniels on occasions)
Favourite time of day Dawn
Favourite saying There are no perfect deeds, but only perfect intentions
Superpower I’d like to have Power to abolish religion, politics & borders

 

If you were born again and could not be Moroccan, where would you choose to be born?
La Palma (Canary Islands)

If you were wealthy and not need to work to live what would you do?
I would definitely carry on studying for so many more years and as I will have material means, I would try my best to help people with the lack of basic needs to live in dignity (In my continent, Africa and other parts of the world, there is a lot to do in this sense).

I would like to conclude this peek on my life & person by thanking those responsible for such an initiative as a good step to bring us closer to each other, sharing a small part of their lives with a quick glance at some of the interesting headlines of their personal lives.

Thank you to everyone.

Gemma Ellingsen (Head Receptionist)€¦€¦€¦€¦..
A.K.A…….€our Dracula of the night€!! He has been working on my team now for the last 4 years (give or take a few months) and I can honestly say that it’s a pleasure. He keeps the round the clock opening hours of our reception team running smoothly by taking care of any incidents that might occur in this sleepy village. With his multi-lingual talents he is always on hand to assist the admin staff with any extra translations/general data updating. With Lahcen you will find a very loyal, reliable, fun loving guy….I once offered him the opportunity to work a few day shifts and he made it very clear that the €œnight life€ is for him! At your next opportunity drop by in the evening to wish him well.

 

Nacido en un pequeño pueblo llamado Tikiouine en la bella ciudad costera de Agadir, yo soy el hijo mayor de cinco, tres hermanas y un hermano.
Vengo de una familia Amazigh, y mi lengua materna es el bereber.
A la edad de seis años, empecé la escuela donde aprendí árabe y francés, y una vez en la escuela secundaria mi interés por el idioma Inglés aumentó tanto que decidí seguir mis estudios universitarios en literatura Inglés.

Solía jugar al fútbol mucho, he jugado en Segunda División A en la Federación de fútbol marroquí Raja de Agdair club de fútbol, €‹€‹así como para el equipo de fútbol universitario de Agadir (Facultad de Arte y humanidades).

Una vez que llegué a la encrucijada de mi vida y debido a las escasas expectativas de un futuro mejor en mi país, yo, como muchos marroquíes de mi generación, embalé mis pertenencias y me dirigí hacia un destino desconocido en busca de mejores horizontes.
Llegué a España (Alicante), con 22 años y me sentí abrumado por tantas cosas nuevas para mí, así como tener que enfrentar algunos choques culturales: costumbres, tradiciones y la lengua, pero me decidí a hacer mi camino y mi primer paso fue tomar un curso de seis meses en español.

He viajado por todo España continental, he trabajado en diferentes ámbitos, nada importante, para mantenerme y como un medio para continuar con mis viajes y descubrir los secretos de un hermoso país a través de su variedad cultural y paisajes espectaculares.
Una vez visto casi todo el continente, decidí echar un vistazo a Baleares.
Mallorca ha sido mi destino por algún tiempo antes de terminar en Tenerife, donde me instalé y, finalmente, me decidí a convertirla en mi residencia definitiva.

Conocí a mi esposa en Almería en 1990, estaba de vuelta de las vacaciones de Francia. Intercambiamos direcciones y en cuatro meses se unió a mí en Almería para compartir la aventura juntos.
En 1992 nos casamos, y tenemos un niño de 15 años que se llama Anouar: “la razón de mi vida”.

He trabajado en diferentes establecimientos en el sur de Tenerife, a mi llegada, en la isla en junio de 1995, pequeños trabajos que me permitieron vivir hasta que apareciera algo interesante.
En 1996 me ofrecieron un trabajo en una recepción de tiempo compartido, en turno de noche durante dos años y me gustó la experiencia. (Mi padre trabajaba en turnos de noche también, y lo mismo hace mi hermano menor, así que creo que es algo de familia!)

Desde entonces estoy llevando una vida tranquila en esta hermosa isla, y el hecho de poder conocer a gente de todas partes del mundo hacen la vida y la convivencia más llevadera y enriquecedora.

El 18 de junio de 2007, Gemma (jefa de recepcion) y Ana (Manager) me dio la oportunidad de tomar parte de este impresionante proyecto y ser un miembro más de la gran familia Pearly Grey de la que me siento muy orgulloso de pertenecer. Estoy y siempre estaré agradecido por ello.

En este hotel, he conocido a tanta gente agradable, con los que trabajo a diario y otros que tengo la oportunidad de ver una vez al año como santaklaus (diferencia de horarios), así como algunas personas muy interesantes entre nuestros clientes habituales que han pasado en un abrir y cerrar de ojos en éstos cuatro años.

Por estas razones me gustaría presentar mis más cálidos saludos, agradecimiento y gratitud por un comportamiento diario precioso y la comprensión y el respeto mutuo que siempre han mostrado.

Muchas Gracias

Lugar favorito de Tenerife Aguamansa & La Orotava
Lugar favorito en el mundo Agadir & Morocco
Comida favorita Pescado & Tajine – Couscous
Película favorita El padrino
Libro favorito 1984 & George Orwell
Grupo o cantante favorito Bruce Springsteen & Jacques Brel
Bebida favorita Te de menta (Jack Daniels ocasionalmente)
Momento del día favorito Amanecer
Frase favorite No hay hechos perfectos, sólo intenciones perfectas
Superpoder que me gustaría tener Poder para abolir las religions, política y fronteras

 

Si nacieras de nuevo y no pudieras ser de Marruecos, donde eligirías nacer?
La palma ( Islas Canarias)

Si fuera rico y no necesita trabajar para vivir. ¿Qué haría?
Definitivamente, me gustaría seguir estudiando y ya que voy a tener los medios materiales, me gustaría hacer mi mejor esfuerzo para ayudar a la gente con las necesidades básicas para vivir con dignidad (En mi continente, África y en otras partes del mundo, hay mucho que hacer en este sentido)

Me gustaría concluir esta mirada sobre mi vida y persona dando las gracias a los responsables de la iniciativa como un buen paso para acercarnos el uno al otro, compartir una pequeña parte de su vida a través de un rápido vistazo a algunos de sus, sin duda interesante, titulares de sus vidas personales.

Muchas gracias.

Gemma Ellingsen (Jefa de recepcion)€¦€¦€¦€¦
También conocido como ……” nuestro Drácula de la noche “! Él ha estado trabajando en mi equipo los últimos 4 años (meses más o menos) y puedo decir honestamente que es un placer. Mantiene la ronda de las horas de apertura de nuestra recepción sin problemas, cuidando por cualquier incidente que pudiera ocurrir en este pueblo tan tranquilo. Con su talento multi idiomas, está siempre disponible para ayudar al personal de administración con las traducciones necesarias / actualización de datos en general. Con Lahcen te encuentras muy tranquila, es un hombre confiable, cariñoso, divertido …. Yo una vez le ofrecí la oportunidad de trabajar un turno de día y me dejó bien claro que la “vida nocturna” es para él! Cuando tengas oportunidad pasa por la noche para desearle lo mejor.